Water Environment Federation announces graduates of 2018 Water Leadership Institute

The Water Environment Federation proudly (WEF) announces the graduates of its Water Leadership Institute Class of 2018.  

The Water Leadership Institute programme is aimed at educating and training emerging leaders and providing them with opportunities to build strong, lasting relationships within the water sector. The intensive programme allows participants to engage in management training and leadership development through a blended learning approach that includes examining complex challenges facing the water and wastewater industries and networking with public and private sector practitioners.

“The Water Leadership Institute Class of 2018 represents the range of talent that the future of the sector depends on,” said WEF Executive Director Eileen O’Neill. “We look forward to seeing the impact this impressive group will have within the profession.”

The Water Leadership Institute Class of 2018, the seventh class of the Institute, comprises 54 water professionals representing 25 states, Canada, Brazil and the Cayman Islands. The graduates join 183 alumni of the programme. They are: 

Josh Baile (Centennial, Colo.)

Kevin Hickey (Massena, N.Y.)

Daniel Peterson (Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif.)

Aaron Benzing (Little Rock, Ark.)

Alia Johnson (Decatur, Ga.)

Evelyn Powers (Woodside, N.Y.)

Suzie Boxman (Alexandria, Va.)

Jarred Jones (Charleston, S.C.)

Hannah Reid (George Town, Cayman Islands

Michele Braas (Millersville, Pa.)

Robby Jones (Suffolk, Va.)

Michaela Rempkowski (Wichita, Kan.)

Nora Byrne (Bayville, N.J.)

Jamie Langer (Englewood, Colo.)

Sabrina Rivera (Las Vegas, Nev.)

Dalton Cardozo Bracarense (Palmas, Brazil)

Y. Mwende Lefler (Chicago, Ill.)

Laurel Rowse (Corpus Christi, Texas)

Erik Castillo (McAllen, Texas)

Sharon Lewis (Corpus Christi, Texas)

Dr. Siddartha Roy (Blacksburg, Va.)

Nate Coey (Sunbury, Ohio)

Dr. Rasha Maal-Bared (Edmonton, Alberta)

Yerman Saavedra (Laurel, Md.)

Jonathan Cooper (Rockford, Mich.)

Kristen Martin (Washington, D.C.)

Jeff Scarano (Virginia Beach, Va.)

Rhea Dorris (Orlando, Fla.)

David Michelsen (Salem, Mass.)

Maysoon Sharif (Ithaca, N.Y.)

Elizabeth Ehret (Columbus, Ohio)

Joe Mueller (Morro Bay, Calif.)

Brooke Stillwell Manweiler (Denver, Colo.)

Steven Farabaugh (Denver, Colo.)

Dr. Swarna Muthukrishnan (Highlands, N.J.)

Frederick Tack (Phoenix, Ariz.)

Ian Fife (Salt Lake City, Utah)

Rahkia Nance (Alexandria, Va.)

Morgan Torres (Seattle, Wash.)

Brandon Fox (Thomville, Ohio)

Elisabetta Natale (Orlando, Fla.)

Kaitlin Tymrak (New Orleans, La.)

*Melody Gonzalez (Miami, Fla.)

Jason Patty (El Dorado, Kan.)

Jeremy Walker (Lincoln, Neb.)

Frank Grannan (Carmel, Ind.)

Matthew Perkins (Portland, Ore.)

Bryan Wilfley (Torrance, Calif.)

Jonte Greer (Houston, Texas)

Priya Persaud (Guelph, Ontario)

Greg Yuronich (Avon Lake, Ohio)

Rahul Hampaul (Nanaimo, British Columbia)

 B.J. Peterson (Overland Park, Kan.)

 Lauren Zuravansky (Virginia Beach, Va.)


*denotes George S. Hawkins Scholarship recipient

The Water Leadership Institute Class of 2018 was recognised at a ceremony on September 30th during WEFTEC® 2018, the Water Environment Federation’s 91st Annual Technical Exhibition and Conference, which was held from September 29 to October 3 in New Orleans, Louisiana, United States (U.S.). The application period for the 2019 Water Leadership Institute opens in November.