The Water Environment Federation Announces its 2016-2017 Board of Trustees

The members of the Water Environment Federation’s (WEF) 2016-2017 Board of Trustees were confirmed by WEF’s House of Delegates during WEFTEC® 2016—WEF’s 89th annual technical exhibition and conference—last month in New Orleans, La.
During a ceremony on Tuesday, Sept. 27, the WEF “gavel of leadership” was passed from 2015-2016 WEF president Paul Bowen (Atlanta, Ga.) to 2016-2017 WEF president Rick Warner (Reno, Nev.). Warner is the senior engineer of capital projects for the Washoe County (Nev.) Community Services Department, and is responsible for planning, design, and construction of regional water resource recovery and recycled water projects.
During his year-long term as WEF president, Warner will continue to help fulfill the Federation’s strategic direction and critical objectives—to connect water professionals; enrich the expertise of water professionals; increase the awareness of the impact and value of water; and provide a platform for water sector innovation—by calling on WEF members to work together as a community of empowered professionals to create a healthy global water environment.
“WEF is the product of 90 years of water champions all working together — achieving excellence every day,” Warner said during his acceptance speech. “I am truly excited about what waits for us in the coming year and how we have the opportunity to build a strong water legacy together and as individuals.”

Calling 2017 a “year of impact and celebration,” Warner set priorities within the following areas:
• Increasing collaboration with strategic partners
• Strengthening WEF’s relationship with research and academic institutions
• Promoting and supporting the Water Environment & Reuse Foundation
• Enhancing key international relations and finding new ways to work with partners in emerging economies
• Expanding engagement in humanitarian causes
• Amplifying the value of water message by supporting the Value of Water Campaign and WEF’s Water Advocates
In addition to Warner and Bowen, the complete 2016-2017 Board of Trustees includes: president-elect Jenny Hartfelder (Denver, Colo.), vice president Tom Kunetz (Chicago, Ill.), treasurer Ralph Exton (Trevose, Pa.), and secretary and WEF executive director Eileen O’Neill (Alexandria, Va.). Trustees are Lynn Broaddus (Wauwatosa, Wis.), Joan Hawley (Muskego, Wis.), Claus Homann (Aarhus, Denmark), Jackie Jarrell (Charlotte, N.C.), Karen Kubick (San Francisco, Calif.), and Peter Vanrolleghem (Quebec City, Canada).