The International Desalination Association continues support of the International Water Summit

The International Desalination Association (IDA) will once again support the International Water Summit (IWS), to be held at the Abu Dhabi National Exhibit Centre (ADNEC) January 18-21, 2016. Now in its fourth year, the IWS is a global platform for promoting water sustainability and addressing water challenges across the region.

Part of Abu Dhabi Sustainability Week 2016, IWS brings together world leaders, field experts, academia luminaries and business innovators to accelerate the development of new sustainable strategies and technologies in the water industry. It is being held under the patronage of H.H. General Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces.
IDA’s role as a Supporter of the IWS is multi-level, including representation on the IWS’s International Advisory Board by IDA Directors Leon Awerbuch and Michel Canet, Secretary General Patricia A. Burke, and former 2nd Vice President Miguel Angel Sanz.

In addition, several current and former IDA Directors and Past Presidents will speak at the Summit, including Dr. Abdullah Al-Alshaikh, IDA’s immediate past President and now Chief Executive Officer of Advanced Water Technologies; Leon Awerbuch, who also serves as President of Leading Edge Technologies; Dr. Adil Bushnak, Past IDA President, former IDA Director, and Chairman of Moya Bushnak; Carlos Cosín Fernandez, IDA Director, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Abengoa Water; Miguel Angel Sanz, Director of Strategic Development for Suez Environnement; and Dr. Corrado Sommariva, Past IDA President, former IDA Director, and Managing Director of ILF Consulting Engineers.

“We are pleased to continue our support of the International Water Summit. Its emphasis on fostering innovation, best practices and collaboration mirrors IDA’s role to promoting this approach to sustainable water solutions around the world,” said IDA Secretary-General Patricia A. Burke.