Singapore: Proposal for fifth desalination plant awarded to Tuas Power – Singapore Technologies Marine Consortium

Singapore’s National Water Agency, PUB, has chosen Tuas Power – Singapore Technologies Marine Consortium (TP-STM) as the Preferred Bidder for the nation’s fifth desalination plant, to be located on Jurong Island.

As the preferred bidder, TP-STM will form a concession company to enter into a Water Purchase Agreement (WPA) with PUB by October 2017. The WPA will then take full effect once all agreements have been finalised and executed, and the concession company achieves financial close.

The desalination plant on Jurong Island is expected to commence operations in 2020, and will add 30 million gallons (mgd) – or an estimated 137,000m³ of water per day to the island nation’s water supply. The seawater reverse-osmosis desalination plant will be co-located with Tuas Power’s existing Tembusu Multi-Utilities Complex to derive synergies in resources such as seawater intake and outfall structures, as well as energy from the in-plant generation facilities.

“Desalinated water is a key part of Singapore’s water supply portfolio,” Mr Young Joo Chye, PUB’s Director of Engineering Development and Procurement, said. “As a weather-independent source, it strengthens the reliability of our water supply against droughts. This fifth plant is part of our plans to expand desalination capacity to meet up to 30 per cent of our future water needs in the long term.”

The desalinated plant on Jurong Island will be PUB’s seventh Design-Build-Own-Operate project between them and the private sector.

Desalinated water is one of PUB’s Four National Taps, a long-term water supply strategy to ensure a robust and sustainable supply of water for Singapore. The other three sources are water from local catchments, imported water from Johor, and NEWater. Desalination currently meets up to 25 per cent of Singapore’s water demand.

The third desalination plant is expected to be completed in Tuas by 2017, and the fourth in Marina East by 2020.