Global Water Awards 2016 Shortlist Announced

Global Water Intelligence (GWI) has announced the list of companies and projects which have been shortlisted for the 2016 Global Water Awards and voting will open March 2nd to GWI subscribers, Water Desalination Report (WDR) subscribers, International Desalination Association (IDA) members and delegates who registered for the Global Water Summit at the Early Bird rate.

Each year, the Global Water Awards are presented at the Global Water Summit, the major water conference for the water industry worldwide. Known as the most coveted in the industry, the awards recognize the achievements of people and projects in the international water industry within several categories.

Shortlisted entries are as follows:

• Water Company of the Year
Beijing Origin Water Technology; Biwater; VA Tech Wabag; Veolia;

• Desalination Company of the year
Acciona Agua; Aquatech; Black and Veatch; IDE Technologies

• Water Technology Company of the Year
Danaher; GE Water & Process Technologies; H2O Innovation; Suez

• Breakthrough Water Technology Company of the Year
Desalitech; Nanostone Water; Orège; Scinor Water

• Water Project of the Year
Ceyranbatan Surface Water Plant, Azerbaijan; Croton Water Filtration Plant, USA; Mujib Dam Water Supply Project, Jordan; Tshikapa Drinking Water Plant, DRC

• Wastewater Project of the Year
Atotonilco WWTP, Mexico; East Selwyn Sewerage Scheme, New Zealand; Hong Kong Integrated Wastewater and Sludge Management; Strategic Tunnel Enhancement Programme, Abu Dhabi

• Desalination Plant of the Year
Barka 1 IWPP expansion, (Phase 2), Oman; The Claude “Bud” Lewis Carlsbad Desalination Plant, USA; Fujairah F1 SWRO expansion, UAE; Ghalilah SWRO, Ras Al Khaimah, UAE

• Water Reuse Project of the Year
AS SAMRA WWTP Expansion, Jordan; Emaar RO Polishing Plant, Dubai; Orange County GWRS Expansion, USA; San Diego Pure Water, USA

• Industrial Water Project of the Year
Changxing Power Plant ZLD facility, China; Dahej Effluent Treatment Plant, India; Northern WTP, Australia; Samsung Integrated Water Recycling System, China

• Water Deal of the Year
Agadir SWRO Financing, Morocco; Al Hamra SWRO Financing, UAE; Changi NEWater II; KKIA Potable Water Financing, Saudi Arabia

• Water Leaders Award
National Water and Sewerage Authority (NAWASA), Grenada; PDAM Kota Malang, Indonesia; Rand Water, South Africa; Water and Sanitation Corporation, Rwanda

Felipe Calderón, former President of Mexico (2006 – 2012) and Chairman of the Global Commission on the Economy and Climate, will be the keynote speaker of the Global Water Awards on the evening of 19th April at the Emirates Palace in Abu Dhabi, UAE.

Voting will open on the 2nd March and close on the 6th April. No votes will be valid outside these dates. For each vote cast, the Global Water Summit donates $1 to create a cash prize for the Water Leaders Awards. Winners will be selected from four utilities from developing countries that are able to demonstrate an outstanding step-change in performance improvement in 2015.