AAEES 2016 Innovyze Excellence in Computational Hydraulics/Hydrology Award Presented to Colorado School of Mines Doctoral Student

Innovyze, a leading global innovator of business analytics software and technologies for smart wet infrastructure, today announced that Jennifer Jefferson, a Ph.D. student majoring in Hydrology at the Colorado School of Mines working under the supervision of Dr. Reed Maxwell, has been chosen to receive the American Academy of Environmental Engineers and Scientists (AAEES) 2016 Innovyze Excellence in Computational Hydraulics/Hydrology Award. This prestigious annual award recognizes a student whose research contributes to the knowledge pool in the area of Computational Hydraulics & Hydrology. Selection is based on original, innovative research of publishable quality and other factors. Both Master’s and Ph.D. students are eligible.

Ms. Jefferson’s publications include a recent a manuscript titled “Active Subspaces for Sensitivity Analysis and Dimension Reduction of an Integrated Hydrologic Model” published in Computers & Geosciences. The paper has advanced efforts to utilize integrated hydrologic models that are coupled to land surface models. Her research contributions are important because energy transfer into and out of the land surface is a primary driver of climate and weather patterns.

Ms. Jefferson’s research interests center around modeling the impact of land surface disturbances on hydrological processes. Her research has focused on ParFlow.CLM, a parallel coupled terrestrial hydrology simulation platform. She is studying the sensitivity of these models using high resolution simulations running on supercomputing platforms. She is the author of several high impact peer reviewed journal articles.

A professionally registered engineer in Wisconsin, Ms. Jefferson received her B.S. and M.S. degrees in Civil Engineering from Iowa State University. She has served as president of the Colorado School of Mines’ Hydrologic Science and Engineering Club and is a member of the American Geophysical Union, Society of Women Engineers, and American Society of Civil Engineers. In her nomination package, she noted her research has demonstrated that advancing science in her area requires effective collaboration and communication between modelers, mathematicians, engineers and hydrologists.

“I am honored to receive this prestigious award recognizing my Ph.D. work at Colorado School of Mines,” said Ms. Jefferson. “The aspect of my graduate experience that I have enjoyed the most is working with researchers across disciplines and computational work certainly provides a platform for math, hydrology, science and engineering to come together. The research paper submitted as a part of this award fully embodies each of those disciplines, which made it fun to work on!”

Administered by AAEES and co-sponsored by Innovyze, the award consists of cash honoraria of $1,500 for the student and $500 for the major faculty advisor. A $500 travel allotment is also provided to the student recipient to attend the AAEES Excellence in Environmental Engineering and Science Awards Luncheon. The award selection is administered jointly by a committee consisting of equal members of AAEES and the Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors (AEESP).

“The Innovyze Excellence in Computational Hydraulics/Hydrology Award is the premier award recognizing exceptional research work in the vital field of computational hydraulics and hydrology,” said Cecil Lue-Hing, D.Sc., P.E., DEE, Hon.D.WRE, Hon.M.ASCE, NAE, President of the Environmental Engineering and Science Foundation. “Ms. Jefferson has demonstrated outstanding academic achievement, exemplary leadership, and a significant commitment to the community at large. We are very pleased to award her this outstanding national recognition, an honor she highly deserves. Her research work is very promising and will have a positive impact on our profession.”

“Innovyze is pleased to present this signal award to Ms. Jefferson,” said Paul F. Boulos, Ph.D., BCEEM, Hon.D.WRE, Dist.D.NE, Dist.M.ASCE, NAE, President, COO and Chief Innovation Officer of Innovyze. “We are proud to further her future in this critical field, and play a small part in her efforts to make the world a better place through her work. On behalf of everyone at Innovyze, enthusiastic congratulations to her.”